top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNadia

That Glow

Pregnancy endorphins.

Exercising pregnant.


Oh how I loved pregnancy. No for real, absolutely loved it. I loved the amazing changes happening to my body: sore boobs, bigger boobs (big win), multiple toilet breaks (especially during the night), broken sleeps, uncomfortable sleeps, first trimester and third trimester nausea, iron deficiency, swollen ankles, occasional back pain, pregnancy glow and everyone’s favourite the huge belly. I smile every time I think about it and can’t wait to be pregnant again.


I love challenges and that was a huge life-changing challenge, which made it so rewarding at the end. I am OBSESSED with exercise. I know, there’s not too many psychos out there like me. I loved having to constantly modify my exercise regime during pregnancy to make it work. And I loved seeing the effects it had on me during the different stages of pregnancy.


Everyone will have their own unique pregnancy story but most people will experience some kind of first trimester sickness. Mine consisted of constant nausea, stomach pain without throwing up. Nope, the advice of constantly snacking did not help the nausea, I felt sick before, during and after food. It lasted 16 weeks and was very frustrating, but the one thing that got me through it was exercise. It was a great distraction. For that 1 hour I was exercising I felt great, even for up to 1 hour after. Even though it was short lived at least I had some form of relief. So just like pre-pregnancy I kept up my daily exercise.


What exactly was my exercise regime you ask? Everything and anything. I just loved moving. Social sports (tennis, soccer, basketball), running, cycling, paddle boarding, hiking, swimming and weights. Having such variety meant I never get bored. But being pregnant meant there were restrictions:


  • Soccer and basketball stopped immediately

  • Running stopped at 17 weeks

  • Tennis stopped around 24 weeks

  • Hiking stopped at 30 weeks

  • Cycling stopped at 34 weeks

  • Paddle boarding stopped at 38 weeks

  • Weights and swimming all the way through

Exercising during pregnancy was great, it meant I fell asleep as soon as head went to pillow (yes it was still a very broken sleep due to toilet breaks but I fell asleep quickly every time), I didn’t gain unnecessary weight, I always had energy (apart from the small stint of my iron deficiency) and I felt happy all the time (my endorphins went through the roof). It still amazes me how the body changes so much during pregnancy, and to keep yourself fit and healthy through all is the best thing you can do for yourself and your unborn child.


Benefits of exercising during pregnancy:

  • Back/ pelvis pain

  • Endorphins

  • Weight gain

  • Gestational diabetes

  • Labour/ delivery easier – more stamina for pushing

  • Decreases constipation

  • Energy levels increased

  • Fit mum = fit baby up to 5 years old

  • Experience less leg swelling

  • Cope with nausea better

  • Recover quicker post birth

  • Sleep better

  • Pregnancy glow – more blood flow to the skin

  • Better immune system - less likely to get sick



I was on maternity leave here so somewhere between 36-40wks pregnant.



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page